Red Floral-Print Silk Crepe De Chine Sleeveless Shirt

IMG_20170627_170041_277-1

The Storyย 

I was out window shopping and when I say this top from The Kooples I instantly remembered I had some red floral-print fabric sitting at home! ๐Ÿค”

The-Kooples-red-silk-blouse

The Making Of

The making of this shirt gets a little interesting. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ I made a long sleeve top before with this fabric using the Very Easy Vogueย V9085 pattern. It was my first time working with silk and I didn’t realise the importance of pre-shinking your fabric until after I made the top. As a result the top I made was too tight around the bust and I couldn’t move my arms! ๐Ÿ˜ฐ

As it is such a gorgeous fabric I couldn’t bear throwing it away and decided to do an upcyling project! โ™ป๏ธ

I ripped through the front center seam and ย removed the collar, neckline facing and sleeves. I used Vogue pattern 8773 to make the button placket and collar. Luckily everything thing just fitted and matched so I didn’t need to make any alterations or adjustments when I put the two patterns together. Finally, I used one of my sleeves to make some bias tape to neatly finish my armholes.

Materialsย 

  • Liberty red floral print silk crepe de chine from Murphy Sheehy, Dublin
  • Black silk crepe de chine from Monn Yue Piece Goods, Hong Kong – HK$60/y
  • Black cotton lace trimming
  • Gold buttons (discounted to โ‚ฌ0.52 each) & Vogue white pearl with gold button from Hickey’s Fabric, Dublin

I am very happy with this project as I got to reuse the gorgeous LIberty Silk and who the two different Vogue patterns just fitted.

Leave a Reply

