Black Floral Lace Shirt

final-20170114_115956

The Story

I finally got around to making a lace shirt, I am sure by now they are no longer fashionable! They became a real item of desire in 2014 when lace started to be a prominent trend. We couldn’t look through a fashion magazine or go to a boutique without seeing some sort of lace.  I totally love the sexy femininity that lace brings out in all girls. 💃🏻

Pictured below are some shirt made by D&G and Valentino, the masters of romantic styles. 🌹

black-lace

Features

final-20170114_115554

Contrasting collar and cuffs , a bling bling top button 💎, conceal front button packet.

I didn’t use the edges of the lace because I was feeling a little lazy, but I have kept them! So hopefully they will be a feature in the next project.

Sewing

bur6954I used Burda Style 6954 – Miss Petit. I have used this pattern before to make a sleeveless shirt, which you can read about here.

As mentioned in my previous post, I have a love hate relationship with this pattern. I doubt I will use this pattern again to make a shirt with sleeves as they are MASSIVE. It all seems so out of proportion for a petit pattern and this was before the big lantern sleeves trend.

Alterations

I left out the darts as I thought they would have looked odd. Lace shirts look much better when they are a little loose because its already so sexy that you don’t need a tightly fitted structure, otherwise it would just be OTT. And also no darts means less work! 😉

Working with lace

This was my first time working with lace and it turned about to be a lot easier than I imagined. I was worried about how would I straighten the fabric, but all I needed to do was follow the lace pattern and I was able to straighten with no issue. But I did ruin my pair of dressmaker scissors… So a heads up if you have a pair of favourite/expensive scissors!✂️😢

Mistakes

I made the button hole at the wrong side at my first attempt and was too lazy to redo the whole collar! Ha!… Oops…🙈

Materials

20170113_113949_smallItalian  black lace – from Murphy Sheehy during their summer sale. I can’t remember the price but it was a great bargain. I bought so much of it cause it was such a good price! So plenty of black lace pieces to come. I better get started making them before the lace trend becomes tacky.

White Tana Lawn (100% cotton €13.50/m) – from Cloth Dublin. This was some left over from my White Cotton Shirt project.

Costs

As I can’t remember the cost of the black lace (the main feature) I am unable to say exactly how much this shirt cost me to made. But I am sure its below €40! Which is great since the Valentino shirt above was retailing at over €900!💰

Thanks for visiting my blog! (^.^)

Leave a Reply

