Pastel Blue Lace Pencil Skirt

20161016_132039bThe Story

I made this shirt as a back-up plan for a wedding I was going to the summer that has just gone by. ☀️

As it was only a back-up piece I did not want to spend that much money on it. Getting my materials at good price was essential to this project.

Inspiration

I got the inspiration from having seen an emerald-green D&G lace skirt earlier this year. You can now find this style in the high-street stores such as H&M.

fotorcreated2

The Making Of

Materials

20160618_1422378

I bought all my materials from Hickeys Fabric.

I saw the lace in the barging-bin as fabric remnant at €13.16. It was difficult to refuse the fabric at that price as we all know lace is expensive.

I decided to go for polycotton as my lining as its cheap and I could also static issues that I would have with the common polyester lining I usually use. In the shop I found some Polycotton poplin in a matching colour at  €4.95/M

Sewingv8963_a

I used Vogue Wardrobe V8963 to make my skirt. This was one of the first patterns I bought and still quite like it as the instructions are simple and the styles are timeless.

The original pattern doesn’t require lining, so I made two sets of the front and back pieces, one in the lace and the other in the polycotton poplin.

I am very proud of my French seams and the invisible zipper I put in! I tied to make a blind hem using a special sewing foot I have and failed miserably… so in the end I just made a normal hem.

Alterations

Originally the lining and the lace were the same length, but when I tried it on I looked quiet aged and short. As a petite girl the last thing I wanted was to look even shorter than I am! So I took the lining up, which makes gives an elongated effect to my legs and a younger vibe (I think).

I am happy with this skirt, though it could have been better if the hem has a scalloped lace finish like the one by H&M. Unfortunately I could not find any lace trimmings to match the colour and also it would added to the cost.

 Thanks for visiting my blog (^.^)

Leave a Reply

