Chanel Baby Blue & Pink Wool Jacket

chanel tweed jacket Inspiration

FotorCreated

My jacket was inspired by some cropped biker I saw in Ted Baker.

Material & Pattern 

2014-03-08 17.22.49ksp37642

I bought some beautiful Italian baby blue Chanel wool mixed with baby pink and metallic pink from Murphy Sheehy in Dublin a little while ago. First I made a pencil skirt for work with it. I bought the remaining meter of the fabric at a discounted price as it had a bit of flaw in it. With what I had leftover from my skirt and the slightly flawed fabric I had enough for a jacket.

I used the Kwik 3764 pattern for this project. I used the smallest size (XS) for this pattern with additional reductions as the pattern measurements were still too big for me.

Initially, I had a little trouble trying to find a zip that matched the fabric. I found the best, most matching zip I could and ordered zip teeth from ebay to reduce the length to fit my jacket.

Unfortunately it turns out that this style of jacket does not suit me as it doesn’t have much shaping around the waist. I am too lazy at this stage to make alterations as I already drag this little sewing project out for almost a year! Guess it will live at the back of my closet until I can decide what to do with it….

But still happy with how my first jacket turned out. (^^)

Leave a Reply

