Blue Stain & Black Organza Cocktail Dress

French Connection Inspired

Inspiration

frenchconnection

French Connection Blue and black Organza Dress, £140.

I saw this dress at French Connection and fell in love with its elegant design, however it was out of my budget and it didn’t fit me properly. I like the dress so much that I decided to make my own one.

Sewing Patterns

4070 Miss & Miss Petite Special Occasion Dresses 1353 Misses' Dresses Leanne Marshall Collection

I combined two patterns: Simplicity 4070 and Simplicity 2345 to make as I thought Simplicity 1353.

I use Simplicity 4070 Miss & Miss Petite Special Occasion Dresses, dress F to create the top/bodice section as I thought the skirt part was too big I decided to use a separate pattern. I choose Simplicity 1353 Misses’ Dresses Leanne Marshall Collection, dress B for the skirt.

Alterations
In addition to combining the two patterns I also added chiffon ruffle ‘belt’, this gave a much more forgiving and needed definition to my waist.

Materials

Italian Blue Satin for the dress, Matt Black Organza for the overlay (surprisingly hard to find, most places only stock crystal organza) and Black Chiffon for the belt.

Cost
~€25. I got the satin at a 75% discount during a sale, so that helped to bring down the cost significantly.

2 thoughts on “Blue Stain & Black Organza Cocktail Dress

Leave a Reply

